Minimalism and Money – 5 tips to save money

One of the hardest things I found to do when I became a minimalist was trying to curb my spending habits and save more money instead of buying unnecessary ‘things’ . This only really occurred to me once I had uncluttered my home and removed all of the things that I had no use for or did not add any value to my life.

Every time I go shopping I make a conscious decision on whether I need something or whether the thing in question sparks any sort of joy. I no longer buy things for the sake of it, and I rarely buy things just because it is a new ‘trend’.

Here are  5 simple points that I try to follow when it comes to money.

1. Bills first

The moment you receive your pay check, avoid thinking about all the luxuries that you would like to buy, and instead make paying bills a priority. Once all these are paid and money is set aside for food shopping, and whatever necessities you have, then you can allow yourself to think about personal pleasures.

2. Shop with a list

This way you are not tempted to browse the shelves for things that you do not need and only buy the things that you deliberately went shopping for and knew will be used.

3. Buy in bulk

If it is something that you know you will use and gets used on a regular basis, it may be more cost-effective. You will have to shop for it less too.

4. Quality

Sometimes it is not always worth buying things such as clothes that are cheap. Yes, the price tag may be appealing but the quality may not. Cheaply made clothing will end up costing you more as they will need replacing sooner. It may cost you a little bit more but the better the quality and durability, the longer it will last.

5. Spend within your means

No matter how tempting or great the offer of a credit card may be, try to avoid using one of these. Every time you the card, you are spending money that is not yours. Try to use only the money that you have and if there is something that you simply cannot afford, save first. The idea of spending someone else’s money is always appealing and no matter how many times you tell yourself that you will pay it back, there is always that risk that you don’t. That you forget, that you cannot afford this month’s payments, which ultimately results in debt.

Leave a Reply

