Mental Health – Royals on Our Side

It seems as though the subject of mental health is finally being recognised more and more and spoken about in public. The taboo seems as though it has been lifted as members of the Royal family are getting on board and supporting charitable causes related to mental health. Prince Harry has spoken out about his emotional battle with coming to terms with the death of his mother Princess Diana. Image result for mental health

In an interview that can be found on the Heads Together site, I watched the  Duke and Duchess of Cambridge share their concern and the need for people to speak up about mental health and also the great benefits of communication which can be a crucial part in recovery. The more the subject is talked about the closer we all come to ending the stigma linked to it.

The Heads Together campaign will build on the great work being done by our partner charities so that prejudice and fear no longer stand in the way of people getting the help they need.

I think that this is brilliant if I say so myself. As someone who has battled with ill mental health for a large part of their life, I feel some comfort in knowing that one day I will not feel so ashamed that I have battled with severe depression. I want to be able to not feel so scared of people thinking that I am mentally unstable or labelling me as crazy even though they know nothing about my life and the difficulties I faced.

Professor Green amongst others have openly shared their experience dealing with mental health. Professor Green shared his story with the BBC (Suicide and Me) which documented his journey into understanding the facts about his fathers suicide. Prince William and Professor Green are doing a good job of raising awareness of men’s mental health which often goes unnoticed.

Leave a Reply

