The things that save you

I am very grateful for the things that i have in my life that have ‘saved’ me.

Although i have very hard days, and days when i wish i hadn’t waken up in, i wouldn’t change them because by the end of the day my four year old son has done so many amazing things in those 24 hours. My son has changed my life in so many ways. I have fought a little harder over the last four years so that i keep my own heart beating. My main aim in life. Not to give up. Not to put a stop to that beat. My vow to my son.

My favourite poet, Robert Frost, writes in the last stanza of his poem Stopping by woods on a snowy evening

The woods are lovely, dark and deep.
But I have promises to keep,
And miles to go before I sleep,
And miles to go before I sleep.

Since i first read this poem at college i have been in love with it ever since. His words have their own personal meaning to me. And thus i chose to have ‘But I have promises to keep, And miles to go before I sleep’ beautifully tattooed to remind me always to keep going as i have a promise to keep.

One thought on “The things that save you

Leave a Reply

