Pram Faced Decisions

So this is the pram I have decided on. When I was first expecting my son, I was dead set on getting a Bugaboo pram. My partner at the time thought that I was crazy to even suggest getting such an expensive pram. Back then it was the Bugaboo Cameleon which cost around £800. Shocking!! And at 19, no way could I afford that.

Eventually I settled on buying a decent Graco travel system pram from Argos that came with a car seat for a small fortune of around £120.

I’ll be honest and say that it was a great pram while it lasted. I think I had this pram for around a year until I had to return it to the store because the back wheel fell off whilst pushing my son down the street. Argos kindly exchanged it for a Mama and Papas stroller which was a decent pram also in itself but not long after, the foot rest snapped and the pram started to squeak really badly.

One Silver Cross stroller and a second hand Maclarens stroller later, my son is now four years old and barley ever sits in a pram as he can walk and rides his scooter everywhere.

Needless to say, on this second adventure into motherhood I feel that I owe it to myself and my child to invest on a good quality, highly rated pram that is going to last until my child is at least three and a half. Thus after looking around and reading through many reviews of several different prams which include the Graco Evo currently in mother care for £199 if you fancy bright yellow or £299 for other colours,

 and also looking at Silver Cross’ Pioneer Pram for £600.

Silver Cross Pioneer Pram and Pushchair System with Hood & Apron Pack

I have settled upon the Bugaboo Bee3 for £539 (please note that for this price, it does not come with the bassinet or cocoon but as you see it in the picture below. As my baby will be a spring baby and will be in a car seat throughout the early months as the car seat can be attached via adaptors, I will be using a universal natural sheep skin liner for around £49. Worth it as by the time it is cold enough for the cocoon etc my baby probably wont even fit in it).

 Very light weight and ideal if you travel a lot and it  folds down very small and compact. this pram is perfect from birth to toddler age.

You can use it with a carry cot for young babies, and the sun canopy comes right down to protect your child from the sun.

It is available in various great attractive fabrics and colours. I feel that it has a decent size shopping basket which is handy for me when I am out without my car. What is great is that the seat is reversible and also reclines which is perfect for keeping an eye on the little one and allowing them to sleep flat.

It folds flat into one piece which is great so that I don’t have to juggle a baby in one hand, when breaking down a pram into more than one piece and keeping one eye on my older son.  I think it will be a good investment and as I have everything else I need from my last pregnancy, I think I will be able to splash a bit more without having to worry about cots, Moses baskets etc.

My bugaboo bee3 has now been ordered in a Khaki hood, black seat and silver frame. I am excited.

Leave a Reply

